Directed by: Dome Karukoski
Original Title: Napapiirin sankarit
Genres: Comedy
Cast: Jussi Vatanen, Jasper Pääkkönen, Timo Lavikainen, Pamela Tola, Kari Ketonen, Miia Nuutila
Written by: Pekko Pesonen
Produced by: Aleksi Bardy
Production Company: Helsinki Filmi, Ripple World Pictures, Anagram Produktion
Production year: 2010
Release year: 2010
Country: Finland, Ireland, Sweden
Language: Finnish, English, Swedish, Russian
Duration: 95 min
Subtitled Versions: English, Swedish
Formats: RED One, 35mm


Lapland Odyssey is a comedy about Janne, a man from Lapland in northern Finland, a man who has made a career out of living on welfare. Inari, his girlfriend, is tired of Janne’s incapability of getting a grip on life. Janne wasn’t even able to buy a digital TV box that Inari had given money for. Inari gives an ultimatum: a digital box needs to arrive by dawn or she leaves. Janne sets out into the night with his two friends to find a box. On their way to the city of Rovaniemi, Janne and his friends face many challenges, obstacles and temptations. They learn that they need to be daring. There´s no room to give into bitterness. The most important thing isn´t success, but rather the journey in itself.


Toronto International Film Festival Contemporary World Section

Comedy Film Festival of l'Alpe d'Huez Grand Prize, Professional Prize

Jussi Gaala 2011, Finland Best Film, Best Director, Best Manuscript, Audience Prize

Nordic Film Days Lübeck

The Brussels Film Festival Panorama Competition

Philadelphia Cinefest 2011 Best Feature Film, Jury Award

Festoria International Film Festival 2011 Silver Dolphin - Best Cinematography

14th Shanghai International Film Festival 2011 Official Selection

Cine Jove International Film Festival 2011 Official Selection

Odessa International Film Festival 2011 FICC Special Prize

Fantasia International Film Festival 2011 Official Selection

15th Canberra International Film Festival 2011 Official Selection

Alpe d'Huez Film Festival, Switzerland 2011 Grand Prix Orange Award

Palic European Film Festival 2011 Artistic Board Award